Malmstrom sweeps four-peat, GSC ’21 trophies

  • Published
  • By Staff Sgt. Tristan Truesdell
  • 341st Missile Wing Public Affairs

Malmstrom made history during Global Strike Challenge 2019 by taking home the Blanchard trophy, naming them ‘best overall missile wing’ for the third year in a row – a historic win that no one had accomplished before.

This year, the 341st Missile Wing continued the historic streak with another Blanchard win.

Global Strike Challenge 21 consisted of approximately 450 competitors throughout nine wings. It is the world’s premier bomber, intercontinental ballistic missile, helicopter operations and security forces competition, with units representing the Air Force Global Strike Command, Air Combat Command, Air Force Reserve Command and the Air National Guard.

Along with the Blanchard trophy, Malmstrom brought home the following awards:

Linhard Trophy – won by the 12th Missile Squadron.

McMahon Trophy – won by the 490th MS.

Neary Trophy – won by the 12th MS.

Bourland Trophy – won by the 40th Helicopter Squadron.

Charlie Fire Team Trophy – won by the 341st Security Forces Group.

Team and Individual Trophies:
Best ICBM Missile Maintenance Team
Best ICBM Missile Communications Team
Best Security Forces Mental and Physical (MAP) Challenge
Best M18 Shooter – won by Airman First Class Lee Laudolff.
Best Convoy and Aerial Interdiction
Best Launch Facility Recapture and Threat Detection

“The Global Strike Challenge is a great opportunity to show off our capabilities and build camaraderie with our global strike counterparts,” said Col. Anita “4-peat” Feugate Opperman, 341st Missile Wing commander. “We continue to make history by taking home the Blanchard trophy once again and that is because of our Airmen who made it possible.”