HomeNewsArticle Display

Malmstrom makes history with Global Strike Challenge 2019


Team Malmstrom made history this year with the Global Strike Challenge 2019: by taking home the Blanchard Trophy for Best Intercontinental Ballistic Missile Wing for the third consecutive year in a row.

Awarded since 1967, the Blanchard Trophy is a rotational legacy trophy given to the best missile wing. It is named in honor of Gen. William H. Blanchard, who served as Strategic Air Command’s director of operations in the early 1960s.

Malmstrom Air Force Base took home the Blanchard Trophy in 2015, 2017 and now 2019 – making it the first missile wing in Air Force Global Strike Command history to hold the trophy for three wins in a row.

The GSC is the world’s premier bomber, ICBM, helicopter operations, maintenance and security forces competition. The goal is to enhance readiness, teamwork, esprit de corps, mission pride and a competitive spirit. It exists as a way to celebrate heritage and mission by showcasing the command’s best in weapons systems and technical expertise.

Along with the Blanchard trophy, Team Malmstrom won the following awards:

McMahon Trophy
A rotational legacy trophy awarded to the best missile crew. This trophy was first awarded in 2010, named after Maj. Gen. Timothy J, McMahon, who served as Director of Nuclear and Counterproliferation with the Deputy Chief of Staff for Air and Space Operations at the Pentagon.

Charlie Fire Team Trophy
Dedicated to all security police and security forces members who have given their lives in support of the U.S. Air Force’s nuclear mission, this trophy is awarded to the best overall security forces.

Best Security Forces Mental and Physical (MAP) Challenge
Awarded to the security forces team compiling the highest MAP Challenge competition score.

Best Security Forces Marksmanship Trophy
Awarded to the security forces team compiling the highest security forces marksmanship (firing) competition score.

Best Security Forces Tactics Trophy
Awarded to the security forces team compiling the highest security forces tactics competition score.

Best ICBM Missile Communications Team

Best ICBM Facilities Maintenance Section Team

Best Helicopter Security Response

Doolittle Trophy
(formerly the AFGSC Innovation Excellence Award)
This trophy promotes and awards the wing best recognized for their innovation through techniques, processes and programs that enhance mission effectiveness, morale or sustained results that maximize efficient operations.

Spirit Bell
Awarded since 1978, the Spirit Bell is awarded to the team that epitomized professionalism, teamwork and esprit de corps during the competition.

"It is an honor to participate in the Global Strike Challenge," said Col. Russell Williford, 341st Missile Wing vice commander. "It allows our Airmen to demonstrate their combat capabilities against the best of the best.

"In the end, it allows us to demonstrate that we can defend America with combat ready ICBMs," he continued. "It sends a message not only to our Allies, but also to our adversaries."

USAF Comments Policy
If you wish to comment, use the text box below. AF reserves the right to modify this policy at any time.

This is a moderated forum. That means all comments will be reviewed before posting. In addition, we expect that participants will treat each other, as well as our agency and our employees, with respect. We will not post comments that contain abusive or vulgar language, spam, hate speech, personal attacks, violate EEO policy, are offensive to other or similar content. We will not post comments that are spam, are clearly "off topic", promote services or products, infringe copyright protected material, or contain any links that don't contribute to the discussion. Comments that make unsupported accusations will also not be posted. The AF and the AF alone will make a determination as to which comments will be posted. Any references to commercial entities, products, services, or other non-governmental organizations or individuals that remain on the site are provided solely for the information of individuals using this page. These references are not intended to reflect the opinion of the AF, DoD, the United States, or its officers or employees concerning the significance, priority, or importance to be given the referenced entity, product, service, or organization. Such references are not an official or personal endorsement of any product, person, or service, and may not be quoted or reproduced for the purpose of stating or implying AF endorsement or approval of any product, person, or service.

Any comments that report criminal activity including: suicidal behaviour or sexual assault will be reported to appropriate authorities including OSI. This forum is not:

  • This forum is not to be used to report criminal activity. If you have information for law enforcement, please contact OSI or your local police agency.
  • Do not submit unsolicited proposals, or other business ideas or inquiries to this forum. This site is not to be used for contracting or commercial business.
  • This forum may not be used for the submission of any claim, demand, informal or formal complaint, or any other form of legal and/or administrative notice or process, or for the exhaustion of any legal and/or administrative remedy.

AF does not guarantee or warrant that any information posted by individuals on this forum is correct, and disclaims any liability for any loss or damage resulting from reliance on any such information. AF may not be able to verify, does not warrant or guarantee, and assumes no liability for anything posted on this website by any other person. AF does not endorse, support or otherwise promote any private or commercial entity or the information, products or services contained on those websites that may be reached through links on our website.

Members of the media are asked to send questions to the public affairs through their normal channels and to refrain from submitting questions here as comments. Reporter questions will not be posted. We recognize that the Web is a 24/7 medium, and your comments are welcome at any time. However, given the need to manage federal resources, moderating and posting of comments will occur during regular business hours Monday through Friday. Comments submitted after hours or on weekends will be read and posted as early as possible; in most cases, this means the next business day.

For the benefit of robust discussion, we ask that comments remain "on-topic." This means that comments will be posted only as it relates to the topic that is being discussed within the blog post. The views expressed on the site by non-federal commentators do not necessarily reflect the official views of the AF or the Federal Government.

To protect your own privacy and the privacy of others, please do not include personally identifiable information, such as name, Social Security number, DoD ID number, OSI Case number, phone numbers or email addresses in the body of your comment. If you do voluntarily include personally identifiable information in your comment, such as your name, that comment may or may not be posted on the page. If your comment is posted, your name will not be redacted or removed. In no circumstances will comments be posted that contain Social Security numbers, DoD ID numbers, OSI case numbers, addresses, email address or phone numbers. The default for the posting of comments is "anonymous", but if you opt not to, any information, including your login name, may be displayed on our site.

Thank you for taking the time to read this comment policy. We encourage your participation in our discussion and look forward to an active exchange of ideas.