Colonel Benji L. Johnson is Deputy Commander, 341st Missile Wing, Malmstrom Air Force Base, Montana. The wing's 4,000 personnel defend the United States with combat-ready Airmen and nuclear forces. They are responsible for base support, maintenance, security and operation of 150 Minuteman III intercontinental ballistic missiles located throughout a 13,800 square-mile complex in central Montana.

Colonel Johnson is a University of North Dakota graduate and was commissioned through Officer Training School in 2003. Prior to commissioning, he spent five years as a computer maintenance and switching systems technician working on communications equipment to support 5th Bomb Wing and 91st Missile Wing. After commissioning, he spent two years as a Communications Officer. He then cross-trained as a Nuclear and Missile Operations officer. He has held key leadership positions in ICBM units to include serving as a missile combat crew commander, multiple instructor positions, Senior Crew Commander Instructor, Chief, Emergency War Orders Training, as an ICBM Weapons Officer and finally as an Assistant Operations Officer, ICBM Codes. Later, he served as Deputy Chief, Congressional Actions in the Air Force’s Legislative Liaison Office. He then served as commander, 740th Missile Squadron Minot AFB. Prior to his current position, he served on the Joint Staff as a Presidential Strike Advisor on Operations Team Four and as the Deputy Chief, Nuclear Operations Division.

2001 Associate of Applied Science, Community College of the Air Force
2002 Bachelor of Science in Education, University of North Dakota, Grand Forks, N.D.
2003 Aerospace Basic Course, Maxwell Air Force Base, Ala.
2005 Master of Arts in Education, Trident University International, Cypress, Ca.
2009 Squadron Officer School, Maxwell Air Force Base, Ala.
2010 USAF Weapons Instructor Course, Nellis Air Force Base, Nev.
2013 Air Command and Staff College (Correspondence)
2016 Graduate Certificate in Legislative Studies, Gov’t Affairs Institute, Georgetown University, Washington, D.C.

1. November 1998 – March 2003, STRATCOM Maintenance Journeyman, 5th Bomb Wing, Minot AFB, N.D.
2. March 2003 – March 2005, Officer in Charge, Air Traffic Control Systems & Radio Maintenance and Planning & Implementation, Ellsworth AFB, S.D.
3. July 2005 – May 2009, Senior Missile Combat Crew Commander Instructor, Minot AFB, N.D.
4. May 2009 – January 2011, Chief, Emergency War Orders Training, Minot AFB, N.D.
5. January 2011 – June 2015, Assistant Operations Officer, ICBM Tactics and Assistant Director of Operations, ICBM Codes, Malmstrom AFB, MT.
6. July 2015 – December 2016, Air Force Legislative Fellow, Office of U.S. Senator Steve Daines (R-MT) Washington D.C.
7. December 2016 – June 2018, Secretary of the Air Force, Office of Legislative Liaison, Pentagon, Washington D.C.
8. June 2018 – June 2022, Commander 740th Missile Squadron, Minot AFB, N.D.
9. July 2020 – June 2021, Student, Air Force Fellowship, Congressional Research Service, Washington D.C.
10. June 2021 – June 2023, Presidential Strike Advisor, Operations Team Four and Deputy Chief, Nuclear Operations Division, Joint Staff, Pentagon, Washington D.C.

Defense Meritorious Service Medal
Air and Space Meritorious Service Medal with two oak leaf clusters Air Force Commendation Medal with two oak leaf clusters
Air and Space Achievement Medal with one oak leaf cluster
Air and Space Outstanding Unit Award with Valor Device and three oak leaf clusters Combat Readiness Medal
National Defense Service Medal
Nuclear Deterrence Operations Service Medal with ‘N’ Device and 1 Oak Leaf Cluster


Second Lieutenant Feb 2003
First Lieutenant Feb 2005
Captain Feb 2007
Major Jan 2013
Lieutenant Colonel Dec 2016


(Current as of October 2023)